Atlantic Division Semifinal Game 5: Portland Pirates 3 @ Hartford Wolf Pack 2
Tuesday April 22nd 2008, 11:17 pm

First Period
Pack outshot the Pirates 14-7 but a Tomas Pock turnover at the Pirate blue line resulted in an odd man rush and a 1-0 Pirate lead.

Second Period
Less than a minute in, Mike Ouellette found some open space, skated down the right wing side and fired a slapper on goal. Pirate goalie J.S. Aubin made the initial stop, but put the rebound right out in the high slot, where Andrew Hutchinson swooped in for the goal. The Pack took the lead at 12:43 when Hugh Jessiman carried the puck into the Pirate zone, only to lose it to a poke check. But Lauri Korpikoski came in right behind him, picked up the loose puck and fired a snap shot high on the stick side of Aubin. The Pirates’ Andy Schneider tied it back up less than 4 minutes later when he beat Pack starter Miika Wiikman with a slapshot from the left point, through traffic. The Pack controlled the pace of play throughout, outshooting the Pirates 13-5.

Third Period
The Pack got screwed by the officials yet again as a puck was touched by multiple Pirate high sticks before it dropped behind Wiikman and into the net. The goal was originally credited to Michal Birner before being changed to Brett Festerling. They had no choice but to change it, since apparently the argument for why it wasn’t waved off was that Birner didn’t actually touch it with his high stick. That would have been fine, if Festerling’s stick hadn’t also been above the cross bar. But ever since Portland coach Kevin Dineen threw a hissy fit after game one over a penalty he felt was missed just prior to the Pack scoring the winning goal, the Pack haven’t gotten the benefit of any calls. Wiikman threw a fit of his own (and his blocker — twice) when the goal was allowed to stand. The goal kicked the spirit out of the Pack, who didn’t really threaten the rest of the way as the Pirates clamped down and played solid defense. The hockey gods seemed to be doing their best to help the Pack out, as four different empty net attempts by the Pirates were either shot wide or whiffed, but the Pack couldn’t get anything going in the Pirate zone.

Season over.

Pack Scoring
2. Hutchinson (2) (Ouellette) 0:50
2. Korpikoski (1) (Jessiman) 12:43

Were constantly changed. They ended up something like this:
Dupont – Anismov – Parenteau
Owens – Korpikoski – Bourret
Byers – Moore – Jessiman
Pyatt – Ouellette – Gratton

Potter – Hutchinson
Baranka – Sanguinetti
Pock – Taylor

Wiikman / LeNeveu

Three Stars
1. Jean-Sebastien Aubin
2. Andrew Hutchinson
3. Andy Schneider

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • MySpace
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • FriendFeed
  • Reddit
  • Technorati
Filed under: Hartford Wolf Pack

No Comments so far
Leave a comment

Leave a comment


(required) (will not be displayed)